The Mill on the Fleet was built in 1788 as a cotton spinning mill and restored as a visitor and exhibition centre by Dumfries and Galloway Council in the 1980s. It is also houses the Gatehouse Tourist Information Centre.
The Main Exhibition Floor
The main exhibition floor houses displays focusing on the history and heritage of Gatehouse, and exploring the Fleet Valley and surrounding areas. The Fleet Valley is a designated National Scenic Area - one of three in this part of Scotland. The displays introduce the valley and provide orientation and resources to help visitors explore the area.
The temporary exhibition galleries, have a programme of exhibitions running throughout the season.
The Mill Café provides delicious snacks, sandwiches, light meals and drinks all day. Enjoy the river and its varied wildlife from the open air terrace.
The Mill Bookshop is on the second floor. Come and enjoy searching through our 20,000 plus books on a wide range of subjects.
Regional Arts and Crafts
Also on the top floor is a pop-up shop run by twenty regional artists and makers working in a range of disciplines - ceramics, textiles, prints, paintings and more.